Adderbury maintain title push with another victory

Nick Spencer helped Banbury Central to victory over Witney Mills
Nick Spencer helped Banbury Central to victory over Witney Mills

Adderbury’s march to the Oxford & District Bowls League division three title continued with an 84-43 demolition of Banbury Central B.

The win pushed Adderbury five-and-a-half points nearer the championship while Central picked up just half a point in their bid to climb out of the bottom three.

Darren Sharpe’s rink of Ian Dunn, Paul Jelfs and Ted Eley rattled up a 28-8 victory while Bryan Ogilvie, Malcolm Brown, Cliff Hall and Tom Clark won 26-14. Dave Allington, Chris Holmes, Pete Griffin and Chris Skidmore finished 16-7 ahead while Mick Jelfs, Steve Millard, Phil French and Phil Gladden drew 14-14.

Banbury Central beat Witney Mills 82-48 in division one.

Ian Whelpton, Ian Gilbert, Les Campion and Mick Andrew won 23-6 while Chick Boyd, Andy Winter, Andy Wilkin and Keith McNeill won 22-16. Lee Young, Nick Spencer, Bob Joyner and Nigel Galletly won 19-8 while Alan Carter, Luke Gilbert, Graham Morbey and Will Campion drew 18-18.

Bloxham beat Oxford University Press 77-58 in division four.

The win was inspired by captain Tony Gardner with Brian Smith, Ray Billington and Ray Hopkins who led throughout to have a good 32-10 win. Dave Morse with John Price, Bob Ottway and Norman Hambidge were the other winning rink, 19-13.

Ron Higgins with Ray Sopp, Des Jones and Rob Kearvell lost 13-20 and in a close match Alan Miles with Chris Hall, John Nolan and John Stephens lost 13-15.