Southern League restart is delayed

Corby Town's Steel Park homeCorby Town's Steel Park home
Corby Town's Steel Park home
Clubs at Steps 3 and 4 will have to wait to get their seasons going again

The football season for clubs at Steps 3 and 4 is remaining on hold for the time being.

A joint statement from the Southern League, Northern Premier League and Isthmian League - the Trident Leagues - confirmed that, after a vote by the clubs, that the season will remain paused with teams in Tier 3 of the new Covid-19 restrictions currently unable to play in front of crowds.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

It means the season for Southern League clubs AFC Rushden & Diamonds, Corby Town, Banbury United, Biggleswade Town, Kings Langley, Bedford Town, Daventry Town, Aylesbury United and Biggleswade FC will not restart until at least the new review of the tiers, which is due on December 16.

However, Diamonds, Biggleswade Town, Kings Langley and Bedford Town will still be able to play their respective Buildbase FA Trophy ties next Tuesday night.

The joint statement said: “The clubs in membership of the Northern Premier, Southern and Isthmian Leagues (the Trident Leagues) met earlier this week to consider the challenges and issues brought about by the reintroduction of tiers after the raising of the nationwide lockdown with effect from yesterday.

“The clubs were asked to vote on a proposition that the pause in fixtures be continued with a regular review in light of changes to the tiers and/or grants becoming available, the first review to be no later than December 16.

“The total votes cast by the 224 clubs show a substantial number of clubs in agreement with the proposition.

“The matter has been considered today and is subject to comment by The FA.”

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.