Famous four triumph in the final round of championship

William Layton leads James Pashley during Sunday's meeting at Shenington. Photo: Graham Smith
William Layton leads James Pashley during Sunday's meeting at Shenington. Photo: Graham Smith

Four wins was the total tally for Banbury drivers at Shenington’s last round of the club championship.

William Layton started eighth after the two heats in Sunday’s Junior TKM while compatriot James Pashley slotted into second behind Nathan Wells.

Layton stormed up behind Pashley, soon replacing him and leaving the Over Norton driver overtaken by Archie Strong then spinning down to 13th in the tricky wet conditions. A battle with Wells saw Layton come out ahead for the win and taking the 2016 club championship, Zak Taylor coming up to third.

In the senior TKM classes Max Goldsmith catapulted out of the starting grid with William Lakin holding off the next pack of karts.

Goldsmith was a master of the damp track, winning with a seven seconds gap to Lakin with Colin Morris dropping out of third to the back and replaced by Matthew Taylor.

In the economy Clubman category, Shenington’s André Marot kept his first place from the start to finish, throwing off a challenge from James Cayzer, the pair leaving Luke Bourne some distance in arrears. Marot has also won the club championship.

The other Over Norton driver, Joseph Reeves-Smith had an unhappy final with a retirement.

And the last Banburyshire win came courtesy of Edgehill’s Ross Allen in the 250 National class.

A poor start had him behind both Matthew Duncan and Aaron Powell but he was quickly past Duncan and then chased down Powell for the win by five seconds.

In the concurrent KZ UK race for the 125cc geared karts Malcolm Smith had pole courtesy of a heat win and second.

He held off Lee Ward for the first few laps until Dan Kelly stormed up and into the fight for the win and also to clinch the championship. Sometimes three abreast, the karters put on a great show, Kelly eventually getting ahead when Smith slid a little wide at the last hairpin.

As the top two 250 drivers overtook the KZ lead battle, Oliver Gemmill had a late charge to pip first Ward then Smith on the last corner for second.

In the IAME two-stroke category Jamie Mead come out of the start in seventh but soon leapfrogged all drivers up to second. Runaway leader Christopher Draper gradually faded back as Mead closed the gap to arrow into the lead and win.

Billy Mattock was also well set up for the wet conditions, a good start sealed a win over Matthew Biry in Junior X30.