Allen drives to title winning victory at premier meeting

Scott Allen on his way to victory at Shenington
Scott Allen on his way to victory at Shenington

Scott Allen lined up in the KZ UK 125cc geared class and lifted the MSA E Plate Championship at the Whelen Europe Shenington SuperPrix.

The Edgehill driver started the final from pole but soon succumbed to Ben Blick at the first hairpin.

Allen squeezed up the inside on the next lap to take back the lead and, despite the close attention of Blick for the duration, took the win and the English (E) championship. James Glenister maintained third from Adam Glear after Matt Sherwen fell several places.

Lee Stamp had little trouble keeping Richard Morris at bay in the 250 National class, as in the KZ UK a round of their national Super 4 championship.

The 210 Challenge round was won by a fast starting Tom Whyte but Banbury’s veteran driver Tony Bury had slotted into second at the start.

Dan Bury, from Shipston-on-Stour, was soon past and chasing the leader while Tony Bury fell to a splendid fourth albeit behind Adam Woodward.

Over Norton’s James Pashley lost the Junior TKM lead to Joe Taylor in a trading scrap but Joe Fowler bypassed both for the win, another for the Edgehill Jade team.

Pashley had to settle for third behind Abbi Pulling while Taylor fell to eighth.

Shenington’s Andre Marot won the TKM Clubman class, albeit after a strong fight with James Cayzer.

That allowed Chris Yates and Ayrton Wynell-Mayow to close at the end. Banbury’s Eddie Mawle dropped to last. Once Matthew Taylor had found a way past Stratford’s Tom Owen in TKM Extreme, he was able to pull away for the win.

Harry Moore just pipped Jack Griffiths and Sam Fowler for second with Owen in fifth. Banbury’s Max Goldsmith recovered from a bad heat to take eighth but Hook Norton’s Joseph Reeves-Smith had an early retirement.

The meeting also hosted the second round of the MSA British Kart Championships.

The senior category won by the flying Scotsman Dean MacDonald over Jacob Stilp and Harrison Thomas. The junior category was dominated by Jonathan Hoggard with Morgan Porter and Kiern Jewiss joining him on the podium.

In the two-stroke IAME Cadet class, Jamie Mead got the upper hand on race long rival Arvid Lindblad at the last corner. Reggie Duhy was third in a tight finish.