Allen and Layton race to victories at Shenington

Scott Allen and William Layton enjoyed wins in KZ UK and Junior TKM respectively in Sunday's meeting at Shenington Kart Club.
Scott Allen on his way to victory at Shenington. Photo: Graham SmithScott Allen on his way to victory at Shenington. Photo: Graham Smith
Scott Allen on his way to victory at Shenington. Photo: Graham Smith

Allen, from Edgehill, made a poor start from pole position in the 125cc geared category, only fifth into the first lap whilst Lee Ward and Tom Longfield both overshot the first hairpin.

That allowed Malcolm Smith to slip through to lead. But Longfield soon redressed the balance, taking Smith at the same spot as his earlier error.

Allen came storming through the field for the lead and eventual win. Smith slipped behind Anderson Chilcott for an eventual fourth.

Banbury driver Layton and Joshua Sherriff enjoyed a great battle at the head of the Junior TKM final, swapping several times.

Layton prevailed for the win while Zak Oates cut through the next group for third. Spencer Stevenson had to retire earlier from that third place with a broken rear bumper.

Shenington’s André Marot only needed a top ten position to clinch the club championship in TKM Clubman but a non-finish in a heat did not help his cause.

As Suk Sandher romped clear in the final, Marot worked his way through to sixth ahead of Banbury’s Eddie Mawle then James Cayzer’s engine seized causing Graham Stewart and Christian Chater to crash too, all in front of Marot.

So that left Marot second and celebrating his title and Mawle third.

In TKM Extreme, Matthew Taylor eked out a two second lead over Lewis Wadley and William Lakin.

Banbury’s Max Goldsmith was fourth after a clash with Colin Morris, the latter excluded from the meeting for an offence coming into the pits, promoting Napton’s Chris Goffin to fifth.

Matthew Biry traded the Junior X30 lead with Joe Fowler in the initial stages until Billy Mattock put his kart between them and briefly took the lead.

He was rebuffed and put back to third but next time Mattock dived in at Café Corner on Biry for a solid second, but letting Fowler escape for the win. Biry was then pipped by Alessandro Ceronetti for fourth.

The Cadet grids were very popular and in the Honda category Daniel Guinchard led a train of karts for the win. William MacIntyre won the IAME Cadets away, followed by Alfie Baxter-Davies.