How have the Laws of Cricket changed with the new 2017 code?

By The Newsroom
Monday, 15th January 2018, 11:29 am
Updated Tuesday, 16th January 2018, 4:25 pm

Recreational cricketers will see a new set of laws in place when they start the 2018 season.

The Laws came into place on October 1, 2017 and the the MCC Committee’s recent approval of these new Laws will see a new Code introduced into the game for the first time since 2000.

A lot of the Laws have been renumbered and reordered but there are major changes to Law 42 (Players’ Conduct) and Law 41 (Unfair Play) that could see players suspended (like a sin bin in rugby) or removed from the field of play (like a red card in football).

All the changes in the 42 Laws are detailed below.