Polls open for crucial district and Euro vote

Where will your vote go on May 22? ENGNNL00120130423110626
Where will your vote go on May 22? ENGNNL00120130423110626

Banburyshire residents are heading to the polls today (Thursday) to vote for seats on their parish, town and district councils as well as casting votes in the much-publicised European elections.

Voting will opened at 7am across the region at polling stations advertised on polling cards already posted to residents.

Seventeen of Cherwell District Council’s 50 seats are up for election, although only 16 will be contested as Timothy Hallchurch retains his Otmoor seat unopposed.

Cherwell currently has 41 Conservative councillors, five Labour, three Liberal Democrats and one Independent so the contest could, in theory, challenge the Conservatives ‘overall majority’ on the council, although it will remain the dominant party.

Cherwell Chief Executive Sue Smith said: “Approximately one-third of Cherwell seats are up for re-election so the results could have a bearing on the future make-up of the authority.”

Seventeen seats are also up for re-election on West Oxfordshire District Council, including Ascott and Shipton, and for Stratford-on-Avon District Council there will be elections in the Brailes and Long Compton wards.

Town and parish council seats are also up for election in many parts of Banburyshire.

There will be an election for Banbury Town Council’s Ruscote ward following the resignation of Labour councillor George Parish earlier this year.

There is one seat to be contested on Chipping Norton Town Council following the decision of councillor David Lydiat to resign due to moving away from the area.

Parish Council seats will be contested in areas including Epwell, Merton, Sibford Ferris and Wroxton, Sandford St Martin and Steeple Barton.

Residents can also vote for their candidates for the European Parliament on the same day.

For the European vote Cherwell and West Oxfordshire residents fall within the South East Region, which will elect a total of ten Members of the European Parliament.

South Northamptonshire falls under the East Midlands division, which will elect five candidates.

Stratford-on-Avon falls under the West Midlands division from which seven seats will be elected.

The results of the district and town council elections will be announced tomorrow (Friday) May 23 and will be posted on the Banbury Guardian website.

European election results will be announced on Sunday, May 25.