Candidates named for May elections

editorial image

Local councils have announced their full lists of candidates for the upcoming local and European elections on Thursday May 22 following a deadline for submissions last Thursday.

Cherwell District Council announced 17 of its 50 seats are up for election although only 16 will be contested as Timothy Hallchurch retains his Otmoor seat unopposed.

The Cherwell wards to be contested are Banbury Calthorpe, Banbury Easington, Banbury Grimsbury and Castle, Banbury Hardwick, Banbury Neithriop, Banbury Ruscote, Bicester West, Bloxham and Bodicote, Deddington, Fringford, Kidlington North, Kirtlington, Sibford, The Astons and Heyfords and Wroxton.

Returning officer Sue Smith said: “The deadline has closed for nominations and voters now have the chance to see who has put themselves forward to be their district councillor.

“Approximately one-third of Cherwell seats are up for election so the results could have a bearing on the future make-up of the authority.”

Cherwell currently has 41 Conservative members, five Labour councillors, three Liberal Democrat councillors, and one Independent councillor, so the election results could weaken but not challenge the Conservative majority.

Election day will also see a by-election for Banbury Town Council’s Ruscote ward following the resignation of Labour councillor George Parish earlier this year.

Parish council elections will also be held for Epwell, Merton, Sibford Ferris and Wroxton, the only parishes with contested seats from a total of 31 in the district.

Seventeen seats are also up for election on West Oxfordshire District Council including Ascott and Shipton, and town councils within the district also have a number of seats to be contested including Chipping Norton (1), Sandford St Martin (5) and Steeple Barton (9).

The contest for a seat on Chipping Norton Town Council follows the decision by David Lydiat to step down in order to pursue his political career elsewhere.

Elections for wards in the Stratford-on-Avon district will take place for Brailes and Long Compton.

Elections for the European Parliament will also take place on the same day. Cherwell and West Oxfordshire fall within the South East Region, which covers Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey and Sussex and will elect a total of ten Members of the European Parliament.

■South Northamptonshire falls under the East Midlands division which will elect five candidates and Stratford-on-Avon falls under the West Midlands division from which seven seats will be elected.

Residents will be able to vote in all relevant elections either by postal vote if they have requested one or at their allocated polling station between 7am and 10pm.

Details of all polling stations have been sent out on polling cards.

To view an exhaustive list of candidates for each election visit the relevant council’s website.